How To: Install a 2018 4C (UAQ/UAS) Radio in 2013 - 2017 RAM

itsuhhemi

Junior Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2014
Posts
5
Reaction score
0
Ram Year
2005
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Pictures of what you're working with please
Sorry I thought the pictures were in our emails back and forth to each other, I will try to get some pictures today. To be brief, the antenna won't plug into this 68331635AK because the "slots" on the radio side don't match the "slots" on the truck side of my wiring harness.
 

itsuhhemi

Junior Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2014
Posts
5
Reaction score
0
Ram Year
2005
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Pictures of what you're working with please
Hey Grimm,

Figured out why my antenna wouldn't connect to the radio, turns out it was missing the white fahkra. I just connected it straight on without it for now.
 

Mpgrimm2

Senior Member
Preferred Vendor
Military
Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Posts
5,716
Reaction score
3,779
Location
Anderson, SC
Ram Year
2019 Laramie QC (5th Gen)
Engine
5.7L eTorque
Hey Grimm,

Figured out why my antenna wouldn't connect to the radio, turns out it was missing the white fahkra. I just connected it straight on without it for now.
See post 10 of the standard 8.4 upgrade thread for info on the fakra (B for FM) male to female extension adapters to take the strain off that connector that's missing the plastic outer lock.

Like this...
$13 on eBay (long lead time from China)

$11 on eBay (not sure on length, 4"-12"?)
 
Last edited:

Project_Laramie

Junior Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2017
Posts
1
Reaction score
0
Ram Year
2015
Engine
Cummins 6.7
Hey Guys so i got an infotainment uaq and everything works including car play, but not the heated/cooled seats. 2015 ram 2500. Is there an extra harness i need, to make them work? I don’t have physical buttons for them. Thanks!
 

DoughRat19

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2020
Posts
266
Reaction score
149
Location
Massachusetts
Ram Year
2019 Classic
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Since the Chrysler 200 media hub is on back order, I’m gonna try and install a 5th gen hub into the 2016 console I will be installing in my 2019 Classic. I just got a 3D printer the other day and I’m currently fumbling through using CAD programs. So far I have a faceplate in the dimensions of the original media hub that was in the 2016 console. I got a copy of a 3D print file from @deathbyburito to get the rough dimensions of the USB and audio jack ports and added those to the faceplate. I’ll test it out once I have the media hub and then it’s on to making the back structure. Im hoping it turns out alright.
 

Attachments

  • B5871243-B53C-4307-822B-E0F0F5392202.jpeg
    B5871243-B53C-4307-822B-E0F0F5392202.jpeg
    195.9 KB · Views: 8
  • 31632247-4192-49A9-B83A-E8D3707E76C7.jpeg
    31632247-4192-49A9-B83A-E8D3707E76C7.jpeg
    140.4 KB · Views: 6

Mpgrimm2

Senior Member
Preferred Vendor
Military
Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Posts
5,716
Reaction score
3,779
Location
Anderson, SC
Ram Year
2019 Laramie QC (5th Gen)
Engine
5.7L eTorque
Hey Guys so i got an infotainment uaq and everything works including car play, but not the heated/cooled seats. 2015 ram 2500. Is there an extra harness i need, to make them work? I don’t have physical buttons for them. Thanks!
Infotainment does offer a "4c Seat Interface" for ~ $200-$300 (made by Nav-Tv I believe) that's supposed to fix it, but doesn't consistently do so. ...

Another option that has worked for some... Is to swap out the module under the driver seat with the 2018 version (CSWM .. Comfort Seat & Wheel Module ... ~$100? )

Somewhere in this thread or the heated seat thread (How-To: Add Heated/Ventilated seats and Heated Wheel to Express/Tradesman) is a post by @Roman217 about it.. if I can find it.
 

mtnrider

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2014
Posts
2,491
Reaction score
2,278
Location
Georgia
Ram Year
2016
Engine
6.7 Cummins
I just successfully upgraded my RA3 to a UAQ and everything is working including my heated seats and cargo cams etc. This is on a 2016 2500. Took 2 key cycles and all my options showed up. Car play and android auto work well

The only thing I am dealing with is a darker reverse (and cargo) cam. And the compass hub did not fit very well in my jump seat. It's hitting a metal cross brace in the seat and I can't get it seated in flush.
Also the sound on the UAQ is sub-par compared to the RA3, might look at adding a Kicker key amp and see if it helps? If anyone has other suggestions let me know.



.
 
Top