Howdy! Just bought my first new used truck. Former mechanic and current union Ironworker

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

HighsteelIW

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.4L
Howdy everyone,

I joined this forum for gaining some
knowledge on my truck and engine more specifically. I bought my first new used (new to me) ram 2500 tradesmen regular cab it’s got the 6.4L hemi in it. I’m a ironworker and it’s got a service body on it as I will be booming out and working across the United States next summer.
The truck is in really great shape and I got a really good deal on it. It’s got 92k on it and picked it up for 23,000.
In my past life I was a mechanic for quite sometime and got into ironworking about 6 years ago.
I was a former Chevy guy and I also own a 90 ram 150 with a 360 as well. I’m not too familiar with the ram community and how they view the 6.4. I use to work at a research facility where Chrysler brought all their prototypes there to be tested. I know a little bit about the 6.4. I know the 66re has some issues and fail points as well as the hemi tick.
I was wondering if anyone has any extensive knowledge on engine components for upgrading the valve train and other parts. I watched a episode on PowerNation where they upgraded a modern gen 3 hemi with upgraded valve train, cams and pistons as well as a high rise intake. I don’t want the high rise intake but, I would like to build the engine to address the common failure points and get it past the 500hp mark. I haven’t done too much digging into my truck but, I’m pretty sure it has the BGE block and it runs amazing.
Does anyone know of any current shops that are building parts for my year? And, sorry if this is a repeatedly asked question here. If anyone can point me in the right direction on this forum would be appreciated! 80E6F377-6A95-4589-8B3C-757612F5BC42.jpeg