I'm New to Rams. Pls tell me your thoughts on this truck...

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

DJMunrocked

Reaction score
I'm looking at a '19 2500 Bighorn crewcab Hemi with 53K miles priced at $44K. The price is high but it will have warranty and nice shell.

Please tell me about these trucks in general. What are some must-do's to keep them well-maintained or just any other considerations?

This truck has an 8-speed. Has this tranny proven to be reliable?

It also has the variable cylinder system. Is this a well-tested system?

Any information to make me smarter on these trucks is appreciated!

JCE

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
This truck has an 8-speed. Has this tranny proven to be reliable?

Yes, very. Had the 8spd in multiple MOPARS without any trouble. As with anything just take care of it and don’t go too long before refreshing the fluid.

It also has the variable cylinder system. Is this a well-tested system?

Like the above I’ve had the MDS in two Charger R/T’s (2016 & 2018) and in a 2019 Grand Cherokee Trailhawk. Had zero issues with it. I’m sure you could have an issue but I doubt it’s common. Don’t solely take what you see on the internet, more people will complain than say their stuff works. So you’ll see an overwhelming negative picture as a result.

Papa Red

Papa Red
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.4 Hemi
They're very good trucks. I've been driving Dodge trucks since 1994. If you like the truck and it has what you need, buy it.

Red

1 MEAN66

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7 VVT-MDS
I'll be the first negative! I wouldn't buy it, as mine is better! Ignore this and other remarks like it. I have a gen 4 cause I am one of the few that like and wanted a Reg. Cab 8 ft. box. Anything mechanical can break/ wear out. Welcome to the MOPAR Family! Yes to most of us "OLD FARTS" it still is a MOPAR FAMILY.