Help Support Ram Forum by donating:


  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

INFO - 2013-2018 8.4A /AN FW Notes (RA3/VP3-NA & RA4/VP4-NA & UAx)

Discussion in '4th Gen DIY' started by Mpgrimm2, Sep 20, 2015.

  1. Mpgrimm2

    Mpgrimm2 Senior Member Preferred Vendor Military

    Posts:
    5,311
    Likes Received:
    3,471
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Location:
    Anderson, SC
    Ram Year:
    2019 Laramie QC (5th Gen)
    Engine:
    5.7L eTorque
  2. Ken226

    Ken226 Senior Member Military

    Posts:
    514
    Likes Received:
    492
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2017
    Location:
    Washington State
    Ram Year:
    2013
    Engine:
    Hemi

    My truck is Canadian, but I used the US software update. If I remember correctly, it's been awhile. And mine is the RA3.

    Yes, I believe I still have the file on a removeable hard drive. I'll look right quick.

    ETA: yes, I have the file.
     
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2021
  3. Mpgrimm2

    Mpgrimm2 Senior Member Preferred Vendor Military

    Posts:
    5,311
    Likes Received:
    3,471
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Location:
    Anderson, SC
    Ram Year:
    2019 Laramie QC (5th Gen)
    Engine:
    5.7L eTorque
    Ken226 likes this.
  4. bloup

    bloup Senior Member

    Age:
    50
    Posts:
    113
    Likes Received:
    31
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Ram Year:
    2017
    Engine:
    5.7
    I have the Canadian 2017 RA3 17.43.01 file and I shared it with you already.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
    Mpgrimm2 likes this.
  5. Ramit2016

    Ramit2016 Senior Member

    Age:
    42
    Posts:
    180
    Likes Received:
    81
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2018
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA
    Ram Year:
    2016
    Engine:
    6.7
    I've done about 6 updates on Canadian radios using the 18.45.01 NA version. Never an issue.

    Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
     
  6. NickSteel

    NickSteel Member

    Age:
    22
    Posts:
    95
    Likes Received:
    52
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2020
    Location:
    California, US
    Ram Year:
    2013
    Engine:
    4.7L V8 Magnum
    Would this work for the RA4...?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  7. Ramit2016

    Ramit2016 Senior Member

    Age:
    42
    Posts:
    180
    Likes Received:
    81
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2018
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA
    Ram Year:
    2016
    Engine:
    6.7
    As long as you were running 17.11.xx or 17.43.xx software already it will work. If your current software is older than that you'll need to use the CA software update and those are year specific.

    Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
     
  8. NickSteel

    NickSteel Member

    Age:
    22
    Posts:
    95
    Likes Received:
    52
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2020
    Location:
    California, US
    Ram Year:
    2013
    Engine:
    4.7L V8 Magnum
    I think my truck is on 17.43.xx, so that’s great to know.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  9. Austen

    Austen Senior Member

    Posts:
    297
    Likes Received:
    142
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Location:
    Missouri
    Ram Year:
    2017
    Engine:
    6.7 Cummins
    Alright gentleman. I have swapped my UAQ out of my '16 2500 G56 for the time being and purchased a 2017 RA4 from Don K on Facebook (he's been good to work with). However I have two things that I can't help let me OCD get the best of me. 1st being it has a brand new screen on it. I believe that was prior to Don receiving it and me purchasing the radio. With the radio off the screen looks great however with the radio on while looking at it from any angle and not dead center it has curvy lines in it almost like a terrible glare? The "lines" don't move and can only be seen with screen on and it kills your eyes unless your leaning on the center console. I am afraid a screen protector will not resolve this because my cousin has a factory RA3 and you can look at the screen from any angle without anything appearing on screen. My truck came factory with an RA3 never had this issue either. Don offered a couple weeks ago for me to pay shipping and he would replace it with a good factory screen but I can't run the truck without a radio as I currently don't have my UAQ available. He also offered to split the price of a screen protector with me to see if it would resolve my issue. 2nd is my factory RA3 gave me the option for a backup camera soft key and my cargo camera soft key (both were installed from the factory on my truck) and my 2017 RA4 only has the cargo camera icon then from there after you open the cargo camera you are able to switch to reverse. My cousins factory installed RA3 in his '17 also gives you the option to click on both. I'm curious to know if my part number is actually for a '17 radio or 13-15 radio.. Part number is 68270661AF
    Picture of the back of the radio is what I currently have installed in my '16[​IMG][​IMG]

    '16 CCSB 4X4 G56 2500 6.7 SLT, CTT tuning, UAQ, Customtronix Enzo, Single Zone ATC
     
  10. Mpgrimm2

    Mpgrimm2 Senior Member Preferred Vendor Military

    Posts:
    5,311
    Likes Received:
    3,471
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Location:
    Anderson, SC
    Ram Year:
    2019 Laramie QC (5th Gen)
    Engine:
    5.7L eTorque
    Austen likes this.

Share This Page