Large Travel Trailer Blue Ox and 2500

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

bighog85

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.7L Cummins
So after working through my issues with the brakes I left Alabama heading to Utah. I quickly realized that something wasn’t right, most likely with my WDH (Blue Ox SwayPro) as the trailer was moving me all over the place. I am an experienced truck driver and have been pulling heavy equipment my entire adult life. The TT is a Vengeance Rogue 32V, 40’ long and supposedly about 10,000 lbs dry with 1,600 lbs TW. I have the 2k spring bars on the WDH. I stopped and adjusted the hitch head down which allowed me to tighter the spring bars up more. I’m now on the 10th link which is tighter than the manufacturer recommends. It is better now but can still get VERY hairy in higher winds or when trucks pass. The trailer is pretty level but my truck is still squatted more than I’d like. Not nose high but only about 3/4” higher in the rear. I’m beginning to think that the Blue Ox fixed hitch head is a load of crap. If I could tilt it down more I could get more tension on the bars. Does anyone have any advice or is this big of a trailer just not going to be fun unless I have a DRW?

Last edited:

OC455

Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
2018, 2019
Engine
5.7 Hemi Big Horn, 6.4L Hemi 3500 Longhorn Mega cab
I would look into a different hitch setup maybe?

Last edited:

crash68

ACME product engineer
Staff member
Administrator
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
3.0 EcoDiesel
Roll the truck and trailer over a CAT scale then drop the trailer and weigh just the truck, this will give you all the numbers to calculate your tongue weight percentage and "see" how the weight is being transferred to the truck. Usually retuning back the front axle weight lost and the rear axle should weigh than the front.