Looking for head unit with apple carplay 2013

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Eric Keller

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
V6
Hi, I have just purchased a 2013 Dodge Ram SLT with a v6 and a couple hundred thousand miles. I’m looking at changing out the head unit which I believe is the base version (says it’s satellite capable but no navigation and rather small screen)

I’m looking to put in something that has apple carplay, and I’d like to be able to upgrade it to wireless carplay if that’s not prohibitive.

I generally like to stay oem, am I able to get an upgraded head unit that is a pull from a newer year of the truck? I’m not sure what years would be capable of apple carplay.

if that is not possible or prohibitive I am open to one of the “Tesla style” android installs, but I imagine those are not carplay capable?

sorry if I’m a noob! I’d sure appreciate someone pointing me to the right information.

festivus15

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
I don’t think you’ll be able to pull from a newer one without a lot of work. I looked into it for my 2016, but ended up going with a Kenwood aftermarket unit. Crutchfield is the place to go for getting everything in one place.

chri5k

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Diesel
There is an entire thread on this mod. For carplay you will need a 2018+ OEM radio. Earlier ones do not have carplay. None of them have wireless carplay. I use the Carlinkit 2.0 wireless car play dongle ($100 on Amazon) with my 2018 UAQ radio and it works really well.

https://www.ramforum.com/threads/how-to-install-a-2018-4c-uaq-uas-radio-in-2013-2017-ram.116140/