New to hemi engines and gas engine "performance" - shorty headers

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

healthyrx

TOTM Winner
Reaction score
Ram Year
2017 1500 Sport Night
Engine
5.7 Hemi
It sounds like I am starting to get the hemi tick so I think I will be ordering some headers here soon to rectify the problem. I am new to gas engine performance requirements.
With the headers I am not really interested in getting much performance out of them, I just want to replace the manifolds with a solution that wont warp again and I can't afford the downtime to get the stock manifolds planed down.
Just got a few quick questions.
1- with something like the JBA shorty headers, if I leave the rest of the exhaust stock do I need a tuner or can I get by without one?
2- I've seen that it can be challenging to replace the headers, will my 1" body lift make that job any easier or is it the same difficulty?
Thanks

Burla

Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
2010 Hemi Reg Cab 4x4
Engine
Hemi
Did you isolate the issue as exhaust and not lifters? You find broken bolts? It's no fun as a dyi if you will get under the truck. Exhaust is the one thing I pay someone to do, for what it's worth.

bigred90gt

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 Hemi
I installed JBA shorty headers on my truck with no tuner. No issues at all.

I can’t help with your second question but to say they are a pain in the ass to install. The tube routing basically blocks access to a good chunk of the bolts, so you can pretty much forget trying to actually torque most of them with a torque wrench. Just be patient and ready to cuss a bunch.

OP
OP
healthyrx

healthyrx

TOTM Winner
Reaction score
Ram Year
2017 1500 Sport Night
Engine
5.7 Hemi