New to towing and have no hitch setup

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

RamUAllNite

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 Hemi
I apologize in advance for the stupid questions here, but I am not very experienced when it comes to towing or hauling. I purchased a 2017 sport 4wd with the HEMI and 3.21 gears. It did not come with the towing package or hitch installed. Can somebody point me in the right direction on how to get started correctly. I would like to in the near future be able to tow a boat or small trailer with some 4 wheelers on it. Should i go to the dealer to get the towing stuff installed? or should i go with another company that is better? What kind of hitch would I need to go with? I'm not looking to tow anything huge at this point. Thanks in advance for helping an inexperienced person...

OC455

Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
2018, 2019
Engine
5.7 Hemi Big Horn, 6.4L Hemi 3500 Longhorn Mega cab
As far as hauling a couple of four wheelers, and depending on the trailer your are using, I don't think you would be needing too much for it. I used my father's utility trailer to haul my Kubota BX2350 with front end loader on it to his house without issues(just shy of 2000lbs). I wasn't driving fast with it. Two four wheelers should be much of an issue if you are planning on using a light weight utility style trailer. If you are talking about an enclosed trailer (larger type/toy hauler) then I think you would need to consider a weight distribution hitch (WDH). Depending on the size of the boat and trailer, then look at the WDH options and trailer brake setup. I think the dealer can do OEM trailer brake installs.

Last edited:

BlkZrx

Reaction score
Ram Year
2016 2500 SLT Std. cab
Engine
Hemi 6.4