New Windshield

truck2014

Junior Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2021
Posts
25
Reaction score
5
Location
Utah
Ram Year
2014
Engine
6.7 Cummins
I am going to assume you have a box looking module at the top centre of the windshield ?? If so, this would have to be re-programmed to ensure the wipers etc. work properly ...

I do ,and according to everything I have read ,and the installer it does not need programming. But I will for sure check with someone besides the installer . The installer told me that he's never had an issue ,this guy has been there for years ,he owns the business. He does all the work, its just a small one man shop. Its not like this is his first windshield replacement. Anytime you go by there he is busy.
 

truck2014

Junior Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2021
Posts
25
Reaction score
5
Location
Utah
Ram Year
2014
Engine
6.7 Cummins
The more and more I read these posts the better I feel about trading in the option heavy Laramie for the bare bones Tradesman.

You have a point for sure , I could sure live without some of these options. To be honest ,I bought this truck new off the lot. Only thing I was really interested in was a new truck with the fifth wheel prep if it had it, it did . There are a few things I do want ,cruise control, intermittent wipers ,no need for the rain sensor, although I do want it to work now that I have it, air conditioning, decent radio, after that I am with you .

Not sure what options the tradesman has ,but I would assume it has a few like cruise control ,and air conditioning ?
 

sam darakjy

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2019
Posts
152
Reaction score
147
Location
wilmington nc
Ram Year
2018 Tradesman Crew Cab 4x4
Engine
6.4 Hemi
You have a point for sure , I could sure live without some of these options. To be honest ,I bought this truck new off the lot. Only thing I was really interested in was a new truck with the fifth wheel prep if it had it, it did . There are a few things I do want ,cruise control, intermittent wipers ,no need for the rain sensor, although I do want it to work now that I have it, air conditioning, decent radio, after that I am with you .

Not sure what options the tradesman has ,but I would assume it has a few like cruise control ,and air conditioning ?
Yes it has the basic things you mentioned. Radio is minimal but i do not even listen to it or use the bluetooth. Like you i just needed a new truck with my only needed item of BIG PAYLOAD. I also like that it has vinyl seats and vinyl flooring and Im not worrying about messing up leather seats and carpet like I use to.
 

Marshall

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2013
Posts
316
Reaction score
164
Location
Sk, Canada
Ram Year
2014 sport
Engine
5.7 hemi
Can you even buy a truck with out AC? I would be surprised, Sun Roof ,I never use, power everything, don't need it , but WTH? It took me a couple months to find out I had auto wipers, don't rain all that often . The Auto touch door handles are handy, never need to carry the key, unless locking the house up. Mind you , if computer goes south , you are screwed. Now that heated steering wheel, up here that is neat, could have used that on some tractors 50 yrs ago.
 

truck2014

Junior Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2021
Posts
25
Reaction score
5
Location
Utah
Ram Year
2014
Engine
6.7 Cummins
Can you even buy a truck with out AC? I would be surprised, Sun Roof ,I never use, power everything, don't need it , but WTH? It took me a couple months to find out I had auto wipers, don't rain all that often . The Auto touch door handles are handy, never need to carry the key, unless locking the house up. Mind you , if computer goes south , you are screwed. Now that heated steering wheel, up here that is neat, could have used that on some tractors 50 yrs ago.
Most options are connivence , and we could certainly do without them , but we are spoiled . :)
 

KenR 955

Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Posts
57
Reaction score
87
Location
Greater Knoxville TN
Ram Year
2014
Engine
Hemi 5.7
I am going to assume you have a box looking module at the top centre of the windshield ?? If so, this would have to be re-programmed to ensure the wipers etc. work properly ...
FWIW, I've been out of the autoglass game for about a decade now, but when I was active, I never had to reprogram a rain sensor. Poorly applied sensor gel can cause havoc, as can bubbles between the gel and the glass and the gel and the sensor itself. I have seen wires installed poorly from the factory and they can get nicked or cut during the most careful install. I'm not saying this happened in this instance, but stranger things have happened.
Me? If this was my shop, we would remove the rain sensor, remove the gel, clean the glass on both sides where the gel would touch, clean the sensor, install a new gel pad or use the GGG brand gel/liquid, reinstall the rain sensor and test it.

YMMV
 

Timsdually

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2019
Posts
239
Reaction score
122
Location
Jersey
Ram Year
2020
Engine
Cummins
Interesting.
Wife just had Safelite replace her windshield on Jeep GC. Rain sensor wiper didn't work. Different installer said the first guy used wrong "clips". He ordered new ones from Mopar and then the original installer came back to install them. rain sensor still didn't work. Different installer came out and said the gel had an air bubble. He took it apart and cleaned the windshield and supposedly got rid of the air bubble. The wipers will work sometimes the way they are supposed to and sometimes not. We just moved to another state and haven't had time to find a new Safelite shop around here.
 

KenR 955

Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Posts
57
Reaction score
87
Location
Greater Knoxville TN
Ram Year
2014
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Interesting.
Wife just had Safelite replace her windshield on Jeep GC. Rain sensor wiper didn't work. Different installer said the first guy used wrong "clips". He ordered new ones from Mopar and then the original installer came back to install them. rain sensor still didn't work. Different installer came out and said the gel had an air bubble. He took it apart and cleaned the windshield and supposedly got rid of the air bubble. The wipers will work sometimes the way they are supposed to and sometimes not. We just moved to another state and haven't had time to find a new Safelite shop around here.
"Clips" have nothing to do with the rain sensor, as you found out. It is all about the Gel disk, or the gel that is injected between the sensor and the glass, and the workmanship.
**** EDIT ********
If the clips were to attach the rain sensor to the glass, then I understand it, but that would mean that the first installer broke or bent the first ones and the second ones would have fixed it.

KR
 
Last edited:

thebuilderman

Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2020
Posts
76
Reaction score
45
Location
Colorado
Ram Year
2006
Engine
5.9 Cummins
I have the same issue with my BMW. After getting the windshield replaced the wiper cycle once when the vehicle started. Of course the week after I got the windshield replaced a rock kicked up and broke the new one and after several months I replaced that and the sensors have been behaving now. But now that I spoke about it I’m sure those same gremlins heard or will read this post and the problem will arise again.
Well as I said the gremlins read the post and now when I start the Beemer the wiper cycles once!
 

truck2014

Junior Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2021
Posts
25
Reaction score
5
Location
Utah
Ram Year
2014
Engine
6.7 Cummins
The more and more I read these posts the better I feel about trading in the option heavy Laramie for the bare bones Tradesman.

Been a little side tracked for a few days ,but you brought up options , I couldn't help myself , scored on a new set of Amp Steps for an unbelievable price the other day. So I splurged , and bought them. Have always wanted a set , my son runs them on his trucks, and have always like the getting in ,and out with them .

Anyway back to the windshield wiper saga, going to take it back over ,and have the installer take another look at it .
 
Top