Newbie new truck looking for mentorship

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Winterwo1f

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
400 bb
Hey reader,

I'm hoping to find an active community I can learn from.

I just got a 1988 w100 with a 400bb and i need to do quite a bit of work to it. I'm not a mechanic, I'm in cybersecurity.

The most I've done is some powerwheel upgrades and rebuilt a nightster into a rat bob.

Projects on my list in order:

1. Safety. Fix/replace seatbelts and probably put in a new bench seat
2. Re-gear rear. 4.56 or 4.10. (This will be a stretch goal for me. Lots of google)
3. Finish the exhaust. I did the bike exhaust but this will also be a new challenge.
4. Wipers. I'd like to put a more powerful modern solution in and only 1 is attached right now.
5. Lights. Probably upgrade everything to led
6. Fix 4x4 before winter. Need front axle.
7. Speedometer and dash fix
8. Ac/heat
9. Radio/sound
10. Whatever. Kc lights, new steering wheel.

So any pointers from you vets would be VERY appreciated. Where to get parts, any videos to watch, what brands to get or avoid. Things I should check for. Etc...

Also it came with decepticon badges so.. it needs a name. Help?Screenshot_20220504-101324_Facebook.jpg

Thanks!

Wulf

Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 Hemi
Welcome to the Ram Family!