Obd port not reading!!

Discussion in 'Tech Info' started by Mikeyn23, Jan 12, 2019 at 7:40 PM.

  1. Mikeyn23

    Mikeyn23 Member

    Age:
    26
    Posts:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Ram Year:
    2003
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    I have a 2010 Dodge Ram 3500 dually with the 6.7 Cummins truck won’t crank or start will crank if jumping relay I tried to connect scanner to port and it says it can not communicate with the ecm/pcm would low battery voltage cause this to happen my batteries are alittle older I was going to Replace them but they were still working when truck was running I had a friend of mine install a tuner on it and that’s what happened after the tune the port would no longer read the voltage on the batteries were around 11.4 I know 12.6 is charged but I’m not sure if it would affect the computer not communicating or not or if some how the computer got friend if anyone could give me some ideas that would be great
     
  2. MADDOG

    MADDOG Super Moderator Staff Member Military Member

    Posts:
    9,971
    Likes Received:
    3,732
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Location:
    Hillsboro, Oregon
    Ram Year:
    2017
    Engine:
    Cummins 6.7L Turbo Diesel
    If it isn't communicating to the PCM that suggests the PCM has failed. Without communication to the rest of the system from the PCM the truck won't run.

    What sort of tuner did your friend put on the truck? Is it still plugged into the truck?
     
  3. turkeybird56

    turkeybird56 Military Vet 1976-1996 Retired US Army Military Member

    Posts:
    1,587
    Likes Received:
    1,234
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2018
    Location:
    Central Texas
    Ram Year:
    2019 Bighorn, 4 X 4, 3.21 rear, Bright Red Crystal Pearl Coat, pending bed lining
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    Something not done right
     
  4. Mikeyn23

    Mikeyn23 Member

    Age:
    26
    Posts:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Ram Year:
    2003
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    No the tuner no longer turns on either I had it returned back it was an H&S mini maxx tuner that I had put on the truck and he was uploading the tune went through and then tuner went black and truck would no longer start when I turn the key to start the truck everything flashes and I get this clicking noise coming from the fuse box and I can’t find out where it’s coming from
     
  5. MADDOG

    MADDOG Super Moderator Staff Member Military Member

    Posts:
    9,971
    Likes Received:
    3,732
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Location:
    Hillsboro, Oregon
    Ram Year:
    2017
    Engine:
    Cummins 6.7L Turbo Diesel
    If the tuner didn't finish the tune load and went dead I'm almost certain the PCM got scrambled.
     
  6. Mikeyn23

    Mikeyn23 Member

    Age:
    26
    Posts:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Ram Year:
    2003
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    Would that cause the data link not to read anything ? And make the fuse box start clicking
     
  7. ramrocker

    ramrocker Member Military Member

    Posts:
    66
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Location:
    Pearland, TX
    Ram Year:
    2017
    Engine:
    6.7L CTD
    This is from an old post via google search:

    H&S Fried Computer
    03-27-2012
    "There are literally hundreds of variables that come into play here. From our experience in trying to tech these issues, we have found the fastest way to get a customer back on the road is to send the computer and all H&S Product directly to us. This way we can remove all outside influence to variables from the equation and get down to business. I do not know your specific case but some of the reasons this may have happened:

    1. Dead battery during the download
    2. Kicked, bumped, dropped programmer that causes communication interruption
    3. Other aftermarket device on the truck causing interruption
    4. Lightning struck truck (yes this has happened) and killed the computer
    5. Faulty communications cable shorted out during the download
    6. Incorrect wiring / incomplete installation causing interruption
    7. Factory flaw in the ECM itself, causing a memory/hardware failure

    Regardless of how the program failed, we will get it fixed and back to you in a timely manner. Thanks for your patience in the matter.

    H&S Performance"
     
  8. MADDOG

    MADDOG Super Moderator Staff Member Military Member

    Posts:
    9,971
    Likes Received:
    3,732
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Location:
    Hillsboro, Oregon
    Ram Year:
    2017
    Engine:
    Cummins 6.7L Turbo Diesel
    Yes, at least as far as the first condition. If you don't have an operable computer there is nothing for any sort of tool to access for data.

    Not sure about the fuse box click. I've heard it before but under different circumstances. One thought...there are relays in the power center (fusebox) and if they are malfunctioning they click. I'd open up that box and try to determine which one is clicking and replace it. It's a stretch that it would change things but it might.
     
  9. Mikeyn23

    Mikeyn23 Member

    Age:
    26
    Posts:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Ram Year:
    2003
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    Well since H&S is no longer around what’s my next option ? Can you get a fried computer repaired or do I need to order a new one ?
     
  10. Mikeyn23

    Mikeyn23 Member

    Age:
    26
    Posts:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Ram Year:
    2003
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    Can I get a fried computer reprogrammed or do u need to just get a whole new one ?
     

Share This Page