Help Support Ram Forum by donating:


  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Operating aftermarket KC lights with high beams?

Discussion in 'Exterior' started by voiceguysc47, Sep 15, 2020 at 11:11 AM.

Sponsored By: BAK Factory Outlet
  1. voiceguysc47

    voiceguysc47 Junior Member

    Age:
    47
    Posts:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Tuesday
    Location:
    Clio, SC
    Ram Year:
    2013
    Engine:
    4.7
    2013 Ram 1500 4.7 4x4 (Tradesman). I installed a set of KC ligts on my brush guard a while back. I love them, but I'd like to re-wire them to operate with the high beams (while on back roads and hunting plot) and also operate independently. My original plan was to install a 3 way switch and a "fuse jumper" to the high beam fuse. Then I find out Rams don't have high beam fuses. Anyone have experience with this? What's the best way to wire this?
    Thanks!
     
  2. NJMOPAR

    NJMOPAR Senior Member

    Age:
    64
    Posts:
    721
    Likes Received:
    962
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2020
    Location:
    ELizabeth, NJ
    Ram Year:
    2010
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    Sounds like a solution looking for a problem to me.
    You have them wired to a switch now, just click them on If needed with high beams.
    Tapping into the truck's wiring might send the computer into a frenzy of error codes.
    If it ain't broke...
     
  3. misfit77

    misfit77 Senior Member

    Posts:
    692
    Likes Received:
    420
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2016
    Ram Year:
    2014
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    Use a relay and have the signal come off your high beam wire.

    Sent from my moto g power using Tapatalk
     
    RoadRamblerNJ likes this.
  4. kurek

    kurek Senior Member

    Posts:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    1,381
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2019
    Location:
    Washington
    Ram Year:
    2015
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    I've done this. Just got a T-tap and weatherproof rubber tape and tapped into the high beam wire a foot behind the lamp itself. I was able to reach up and get this from under the truck on the driver side very easily.

    This just triggers a relay which then powers on the driving lamps. Obvious benefit here is that the driving lamps turn off in a single motion when I dip to low beam headlights for approaching traffic. Very intuitive and since my aux driving lamps are SAE pattern it's not even really necessary to have them on a separate override switch.

    Another option is 4thgenramelectronics.com sells upfitter switches that are very nice.
     
    JTsRanchRam and voiceguysc47 like this.
  5. voiceguysc47

    voiceguysc47 Junior Member

    Age:
    47
    Posts:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Tuesday
    Location:
    Clio, SC
    Ram Year:
    2013
    Engine:
    4.7
    That's what I'm thinking, Kurek. No problems with the TIPM or throwing error codes with this wiring? I mean, you're only pulling enough off that high beam wire to trigger the relay, right?
     
  6. kurek

    kurek Senior Member

    Posts:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    1,381
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2019
    Location:
    Washington
    Ram Year:
    2015
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    It has caused no problems. Two relays from two sets of PIAA 410 lamps
     
  7. Tim7139

    Tim7139 Senior Member

    Posts:
    401
    Likes Received:
    111
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Ram Year:
    2015 SSV 4x4 Crew
    Engine:
    5.7 Hemi w/6 speed
    You could install the factory fog switch and wiring to run them, then use alpha to turn on Babi mode to get them on with the high beams.
     
  8. Mopar1987

    Mopar1987 Senior Member

    Posts:
    132
    Likes Received:
    75
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2015
    Location:
    Livingston TX
    Ram Year:
    2014
    Engine:
    5.7 hemi
    I've got 2 light bars wired like that, kind of. I have a 3 position switch on the driver side console and relay. Have a 12 volt constant to one side of switch and high beam trigger from driver side headlight to other side. Middle post is the trigger wire for the relay. Works flawless
     
    voiceguysc47 likes this.

Share This Page