Other use of Home link buttons

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Greenham

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
I can't take credit for the idea. I saw it on here somewhere.

I have a home link system in my truck. I only use 1 of the 3 buttons. I could use the other two buttons as on/off for my lights, thus not needing extra switches.

I'm a volunteer firefighter and don't use the lights daily. More like maybe monthly. I've been collecting lights from various sources to use on a previous truck. I never installed them.

After buying a new truck I decided to move forward and install what I had. This new truck had the home link.

After a few fails I found what works. I use this receiver/transmitter to trip a Bosch relay that then powers on a 6 gang fuse box. Each light had it's own fuse so if one had an issue it won't take out all the lights.

The transmitter was easily trained to the home link. The best part is this was a $20 buy from Amazon. It also has 2 remotes. While I use the home link you could use the remote and trip 4 different channels. My home link only has 3. For me, #1 is for the garage door. #2 Emergency lights and #3 will be auxillary white driving lights.

All in, I did this whole setup for less than $50 and have a super clean install.ec19c59084af143142f0b2f04c582781.jpged511e64eed25f00151e18ee113e3f84.jpgb1ea80be10d3a35f6e751a17b8beb6ed.jpg

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

Mpgrimm2

Preferred Vendor
Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
2022 Ram 1500 (5th Gen)
Engine
5.7L
2 similar options from another thread around here that supposedly work...

Fimco 7771938 12 Volt On/Off Wireless Remote Control 250 Feet Range Quick Connect to Fimco 5275086, 5275087 or all 12 Volt Sprayer Pumps up to 20 Amps, Convenient Keychain Clip and Collapsable Antenna https://smile.amazon.com/dp/B00FGYK50A/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_l9mrEb6JC6712