Questions on 2015 Ram 2500 and 3500 towing capacity / specs

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

TheMerchant

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
EcoDiesel 3.0
Good morning everybody,

First post here, I'm new to the Ram truck world and was looking to grab some knowledge from those more experienced.

I recently purchased a 2015 Ram EcoDiesel that I've been using for towing a travel trailer. And while I love the truck it just doesn't have enough "oomph" so I'm looking to upgrade for our next season.

When I was looking for a at the specs of the 2500 and 3500 (diesel engine) a quick Google search said they pull between around 11000 - 12000 pounds which I thought sounded realistic.

However, when looking at some articles it said the 2500 could tow 18000 lbs and the 3500 could tow 35000 lbs which seemed extremely high.

To try and confirm I looked at a 2500 towing chart and it had estimates closer to the 18000 mark. So my question is which is numbers are correct and how exactly is this towing rating calculated?

Just for extra info here's the current travel trailer info:

2018 winnebago micro minnie 2106ds
Empty weight: 3780 lbs
Gross weight: 7000 lbs
Current estimated towing weight: 5000 lbs (we aren't boon docking so tanks are always empty in transit)
Truck payload: 700 lbs (2 adults, full tank, and gear in bed)
Tongue weight: 370 pounds (we do use a wdh)

I purchased this truck thinking we'd be towing something even smaller but plans changed and we had to work with what we had but you can see why I want to upgrade. We'll make it the next few weeks but definitely will need to adjust for the next year.

Thanks to anyone who read this far and can help clarify!

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine