Remote start options

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

ouvs

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
I have a 2012 1500, did not come with remote start but does have security and remote lock and unlock. I don't want to have a key that has the buttons and a keyfob for the remote start. I've had the viper on my 2 99 Cummins trucks, worked wonderfully. But I had just a key and the viper fob. I had a 2003 Ram 2500 Hemi and had a key and fob. I had a 2008 Ram 2500 Mega cab and the key fob was part of the key and remote start. Now I have the ordinary key fob without remote start but I work in a factory and I'm at the back and truck is far away. I don't want the crappy 50 feet range I do have.

I was thinking the smart start viper since I don't have u connect.

What are my options?

BuggyMasters

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
All of my factory remote starts would work hundreds of feet away. I know some say otherwise but everyone I’ve had worked great.

baum

Reaction score
Ram Year
2015 Laramie
Engine
Hemi 5.7
All of my factory remote starts would work hundreds of feet away. I know some say otherwise but everyone I’ve had worked great.

i will be one to say mine dont. it all depends on where you are trying to start them from. more interference less range.

smart start is nice it uses cell towers.

there is also drone (compustar) version of the app start.

what i would do is use the factory remote with a bypass module (hit the lock button 3x and it will start), and add the smart start or drone to it. that way the factory fob you can use for short distance and the smart start for long.

OP
OP
ouvs

ouvs

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
i will be one to say mine dont. it all depends on where you are trying to start them from. more interference less range.

smart start is nice it uses cell towers.