Running hot randomly after new water pump

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Dean2

Reaction score
Ram Year
2021 2500
Engine
Oh jeez, that sounds expensive. I'm not a mechanic and too old to do that job. But thanks for the advice.
it would take a good rad shop maybe two hours. SB is spot on, it is well worth doing. Otherwise the core just plugs back up.

GTyankee

Supporting Member
Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
3.0 ecodiesel
Jack W,
Consider seriously taking the radiator to a Radiator Air Conditioning shop,
I think you will find that you will save money by having the radiator cleaned out properly. If the shop tells you that they can not fix it, they can get the radiator for much less than a auto parts store or general repair shop.

GTyankee

Supporting Member
Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
3.0 ecodiesel
I don't about Chrysler vehicles, but some vehicles have a pin or a notch in the housing.

It is not like Indexing spark plugs, where you try your best to point the side electrode opening at the intake valve

Sherman Bird

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
it would take a good rad shop maybe two hours. SB is spot on, it is well worth doing. Otherwise the core just plugs back up.
I went through this the hard way years ago.... on a RAM. The original problem was a heater that didn't put out more than tepid temperatures coupled with intermittent overheat, at least according to the pegged gauge on the dash.

Customer OK'd flush of the heater core, an new t-stat, and a new radiator cap. Problem was only marginally fixed. SO, we put in a mechanical temperature gauge and drove the truck. The temp maxed out at about 240..... right on the cusp of danger to the engine. The true temp at about 225 would peg the gauge, and that is not true overheat on a modern engine, at least not really high enough to do damage.