Rusted Oil Pan Dealer Wont Replace

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

CrunkGoat

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Was out a few weeks ago changing the oil on my 2016 1500 4x4 with less than 80,000km (50k miles) on it and noticed the entire pan is absolutely covered in big rust bubbles. Made an appointment at the local dealer assuming theyd take one look at it and change under warranty but it has been nothing but a fight.

Now im a mechanic but figured if i can get it changed under warranty thats more of my time and money i can save plus an oil pan rusting out on a 4 year old truck is insane. Service manager comes out and initially tries to tell me its just surface rust until i tell him i knew better. Changes his tune to "well it'll start to leak soon but until it does we can't do anything about it". He agreed it's obviously a factory defect but to sit around and gamble that it leaks before the last year of my warranty expires is not happening.

Made a call to Dodge/Ram Corporate but at the initial level they just call back to the service manager who changed his tune and is now saying its just surface rust again. Told them i wanted to speak with someone higher and apparently im getting a call in the next 24 hours.

Anyone run into this problem before and have some tips of dealing with Dodge/Ram? If this is how they treat their customers once this truck is payed off i'll never own another thats for sure

pacofortacos

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Had a Gran Prix oil pan rust out within 3 yrs.
Dakota trans pan rusted out within 3 yrs.
It isn't unheard of.

Warranty won't cover it until it leaks - it isn't a failed part, yet. To replace it now is preventative maintenance and that's not how warranties work.

Now if you can get a very very small hole to start leaking oil, well then it is a failed part.

Sandevino

Reaction score