Someone Please Help!!! Squealing Noise From Bell Housing Area.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

MoparLifer

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7L
I hope someone can help. Newbie here.
2014 Ram 1500 Express Regular Cab 5.7L 71,000 miles. 6 Speed Automatic Transmission.
I have a high pitch, somewhat rhythmic, metallic squeal that started this morning. Checked belt, idlers, alternator and water pump for bearing failure...none of these are the issue. Decided its coming from under truck. Very annoying metallic squeal that somewhat fades with increased RPM but frequency of squeal increases with RPM. Does not make noise till engine warms up. When I turn engine off and crankshaft stops....whatever it is still turns for about one second after crank stops rotating.
Put truck up on ramps and started listening under truck with stethoscope. After 5 mins of probing around the back of engine I found it! Placed stethoscope rod next to bellhousing weep hole and thats where I heard it loud and clear.
Something is rubbing, metal on metal, inside of the bellhousing. Kind of sounds like the squeal a brake-wear indicator might make. Flywheel bolts? Torque Converter? Transmission Pump?
Has anyone ever experienced or heard of this? I did note the presence of small amount of smokey-gray dust (may be metallic dust) around the bellhousing weep hole. Dust may have been there long before noise started...just dont know when that appeared.

Its not a steel on aluminum grind. Its not a knocking squeal, its a continuous radial squeal It sounds like a steel on steel light rub...just like a brake wear indicator inside bellhousing!
Please Help!

Last edited:
OP
OP
M

MoparLifer

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7L
Update...