Sound Testing / Upgrading your speakers in the Ram (A Sound Tutorial & Test)

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

kylo69

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Sound Testing / Upgrading your speakers in the Ram (A Sound Tutorial & Test)

My Background: I know sound (not a “true Sound Engineer”, but I have lots of experience in this area). Went to College for IT (what I do for a living), Partial Scholarship in Music (Playing Sax, still do), DJ and sound systems engineer for lots of years (fun night time job when I was single) for all kinds of events, both as me being the featured act and for other bands/acts (All but radio) and worked at a Car Stereo Installation business for 3 years when I was in High School/College as well.

All this is from my years of experience in and around music and sound. People can agree to disagree, but at the end of the day it’s what “Sounds best to your ears”. Example: Bose, either love them or hate them. Old saying is “No highs, no lows, it must be Bose”. Others love the fullness of the sound and how they port their sound using full range, smaller speakers. Beauty is in the eye…well ear, of the beholder right?

I won’t go into much detail on the actual physical install (except for a few minor things) since you can always go to any vendor’s website for pics and videos on how. This is more from a sound point of view.

Understand that you can only do SO MUCH to the system anyway with the existing wiring and the truck enclosures. At some point your “HiFi” sound will be compromised by the factory wiring.