Stuck Curt Gooseneck Hitch Ball on RAM 3500

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Freddie DeJesus

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.7 Cummins
I just purchased a 2019 RAM Laramie 3500 DUALLY. There is a Curt 2-5/16 hitch ball in place and I can’t get it out. I have seeing many videos on how to remove them, however, the different with this one is the release mechanism (picture for reference). This release mechanism it’s not meant to move. There is not groove or space from top to bottom to move it up and to turn it to release the locking mechanism. I used WD-40 and cleaned around and have used many hand tools with no luck. Now, I’m new to this, maybe there is another method for me to do this that I’m not aware. Any recommendation will be appreciated.image.jpg

Dean2

Reaction score
Ram Year
2021 2500
Engine
Go to local hitch shop, they will be quickly able to remove it, looks like you need a new ball anyhow. If there is no release mechanism it has to be bolted from the bottom, which I have honestly never seen.

Last edited:

tjfdesmo

Reaction score
The release mechanism is part of the ball, at least on the ones I have seen. That is why I prefer the B&W system that is operated by a bale.

6882_3_lg.jpg
6882_4_lg.jpg

Randy Grant

Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
I would say that the last guy kind of abused it. And he couldn't get it out either to replace it. So, he just traded the truck in. Easier.

chri5k

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Diesel
The B&W ones that flip over are no peach either. They usually get rusted in the inverted position. The little metal bar across the bottom breaks when trying to pull it out.