The Infamous New Bosch CP4.2 Fuel Pump

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Goose55

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Cummins High Output 6.7L
Hello. I am very new to the RAM forum and have worries about the new Bosch CP4.2 Fuel Pump that is being used on the new High Output Cummins 6.7, in the Ram 3500 Duelly, which I just purchased in January.

My Ram Cummins mechanic friend tells me that "9 times out of 10, it is air that destroys them." So, I have all kinds of concerns about this because I have heard that when the pump does fail, it is catastrophic, destroying the entire fuel system, including the injectors. Of course, I have a power train warranty, but is a "limited warranty," as are most in the auto industry.

What will happen if and when the pump fails? Will I be held responsible because Ram will claim I used bad diesel fuel, or did not properly prime the pump after bleeding off water from the fuel filters?

Last edited:

Fuel35 67

Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.7 Cummins
When ya change the filters, just turn the key to run, do not start! Do this about 5-7 times, this will prime the fuel filters and get any air out of them. Then you can start the engine.

Gr8bawana

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.7 CTD
My Ram Cummins mechanic friend tells me that "9 times out of 10, it is air that destroys them." So, I have all kinds of concerns about this because I have heard that when the pump does fail, it is catastrophic, destroying the entire fuel system, including the injectors. Of course, I have a power train warranty, but is a "limited warranty," as are most in the auto industry.

Anybody know if this true or is just another internet myth being spread by someone who was told it happened to their girlfriend's dad's cousin's brother's uncle's grandpa's truck?
I seriously doubt it.

crash68

ACME product engineer
Staff member