TIRE PRESSURE INDICATOR, BLANK.

JRs 17 Ram

Junior Member
Joined
May 31, 2020
Posts
13
Reaction score
7
Location
Missouri
Ram Year
2017
Engine
Hemi 6.4
Ask your buddy if he kept them. Were the tires still on the rims when you got them? I don’t know if I would spend the money to have tires dismounted and then remounted just to get the tpms sensors. Actually I think that it might be illegal to mount tires on wheels without the sensors if it’s going on a vehicle that has them. Is it only one wheel not reading? Or all four? I would be willing to bet that it starts working after a few start/stop cycles.
 

HANSOME

Junior Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2015
Posts
26
Reaction score
13
Ram Year
1998 1500
Engine
5.2
I called him my friend, but as it turns out he is just another **** from a club I go to. He bought new tires and wheels for his Ram, at Les Schwab, and they suggested he take the old sensors from the wheels, as a cost saving measure. I was curious when I was installing his original wheels and tires on my Ram, as the tire pressure was low on all 4 tires. So yeah, They opened up all 4 tires, took the sensors, and then closed them back up. And then he sold them to me, without mentioning that he took the sensors. Discount tire told me that they could install 4 sensors for 365$, (60 bucks per sensor, and 30 to install per tire). At this point, I am just going to go ahead and use the parts as is.
 

teammontana

Junior Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2020
Posts
9
Reaction score
5
Location
Montana
Ram Year
2015
Engine
6.7
You dont need to dismount them. The Ram TPMS has a screw holding them to the valve stem, just break down the outer bead unscrew the TPMS, and screw them on the new wheels. Shouldn cost less than the price of changing the tires. Balance wont be affected if you just break down the one bead.
 

Treburkulosis

Senior Member
TOTM Winner
Joined
Mar 21, 2016
Posts
4,043
Reaction score
4,273
Ram Year
2012 Lonestar Edition converted over to a Sport
Engine
5.7 Hemi
I called him my friend, but as it turns out he is just another **** from a club I go to. He bought new tires and wheels for his Ram, at Les Schwab, and they suggested he take the old sensors from the wheels, as a cost saving measure. I was curious when I was installing his original wheels and tires on my Ram, as the tire pressure was low on all 4 tires. So yeah, They opened up all 4 tires, took the sensors, and then closed them back up. And then he sold them to me, without mentioning that he took the sensors. Discount tire told me that they could install 4 sensors for 365$, (60 bucks per sensor, and 30 to install per tire). At this point, I am just going to go ahead and use the parts as is.
Discount is crazy expensive. I use Texas tire and they didn't charge me a dime when I put my toyos on.
 

Ronald E Shelton

Junior Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2020
Posts
4
Reaction score
1
Location
Blaine WA
Ram Year
2018
Engine
6.7L
TIRE PRESSURE INDICATOR, BLANK. I have a 2020 Ram 1500, with about 28000 miles. A friend of mine offered me his tires and wheels, of a 2021 Ram. They were new, driven from the dealer to Les Schwab, where he had a new set of custom wheels and tires installed. I paid him $400 bucks for his old "new" stuff. The wheels and tires on both are identical. Same Mag, Same tires - Goodyear Wrangler Fortitudes. I pumped them up to 51 LBS, and made the swap. It was an easy swap, I mean they are the same. But now, my TPI is not working. I went to Discount Tire, and they tried to give it the quick fix, but it would not work. Awwww ****. Am I going to have to change the rims out? Or swap? Any idea's?
My experience has been, as reported by Service Advisor and Wheel/Tire Mechanic, that the sensors have to be programmed into the EVIC per vehicle application.
Your problem may well be as simple as having the Dealer (Stealer) just programming the new wheels/sensors.
Could well be that simple?
 

HANSOME

Junior Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2015
Posts
26
Reaction score
13
Ram Year
1998 1500
Engine
5.2
discount tire ran their TPMS device around the truck. They could not get a reading for any of the tires. THey are the ones who informed me that the sensors are not there.
 

br427

Junior Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2020
Posts
14
Reaction score
3
Location
nl
Ram Year
2010
Engine
5.7
Hi all. I would assume that the regular rubber tire valves fit the rim holes where the sensors were? Might be a stupid question, but I haven't tried to swap them and I wanted to know from some of you who have probably done it. Thanks.
 

GC1715

Junior Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2020
Posts
10
Reaction score
10
Location
Niagara
Ram Year
2014
Engine
Hemi 5.7
new sensors are cheap and easily installed...good luck
 

jrt750

Junior Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2016
Posts
1
Reaction score
2
Ram Year
2010
Engine
Hemi 5.7
TIRE PRESSURE INDICATOR, BLANK. I have a 2020 Ram 1500, with about 28000 miles. A friend of mine offered me his tires and wheels, of a 2021 Ram. They were new, driven from the dealer to Les Schwab, where he had a new set of custom wheels and tires installed. I paid him $400 bucks for his old "new" stuff. The wheels and tires on both are identical. Same Mag, Same tires - Goodyear Wrangler Fortitudes. I pumped them up to 51 LBS, and made the swap. It was an easy swap, I mean they are the same. But now, my TPI is not working. I went to Discount Tire, and they tried to give it the quick fix, but it would not work. Awwww ****. Am I going to have to change the rims out? Or swap? Any idea's?
I have a 2010 ram, steel rims , found some cheap 2014 aluminum rims . Got new tires and installed . It had 2014 TPIs Truck monitor system was blank . Cause it doesn't recognize the 2014 tps. Solution take the TPIs out of the old rims and install in new aluminum rims . Problem solved. Garage guy tried with his reset tool but didn't work then he told me he could pair them but it might be an hour or two on the computer and then he still couldn't guarantee he would get then to pair . So what did I do... nothing the monitor is blank who cares. All the vehicles I had before didn't have it and things were fine . I always knew if I had a flat, the ride suddenly got kinda funky.
 

2012RAM1500RT

Senior Member
Supporting Member
TOTM Winner
Joined
Dec 8, 2020
Posts
1,454
Reaction score
2,420
Location
NC
Ram Year
2012
Engine
345 HEMI
I have a 2010 ram, steel rims , found some cheap 2014 aluminum rims . Got new tires and installed . It had 2014 TPIs Truck monitor system was blank . Cause it doesn't recognize the 2014 tps. Solution take the TPIs out of the old rims and install in new aluminum rims . Problem solved. Garage guy tried with his reset tool but didn't work then he told me he could pair them but it might be an hour or two on the computer and then he still couldn't guarantee he would get then to pair . So what did I do... nothing the monitor is blank who cares. All the vehicles I had before didn't have it and things were fine . I always knew if I had a flat, the ride suddenly got kinda funky.
Amen! Sad day when people don't know their tire is low, may be time to stop driving!
 
Top