Titan 55 gallon tank install

Steve Hammer

Junior Member
Joined
May 15, 2022
Posts
5
Reaction score
1
Location
Hospital
Ram Year
2016
Engine
6.7 Cummins
I have just replaced stock 35 gallon fuel tank and installed a Titan 55 gallon, 2016 RAM 3500. There is issue w/correct fuel reading both in fuel amount and mileage left. Has any one come across this issue? It is reasonable to presume the computer would adjust accordingly. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
 

KoboldTaco

Senior Member
Supporting Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2022
Posts
142
Reaction score
175
Location
Los Angeles
Ram Year
2022
Engine
Cummins 6.7L
In the videos I’ve watched on the 5th gen series RAM 2500, an ECU modification is required to change the tank size. I’ve not yet researched the best computer for the RAMS, but I do believe many threads on here make recommendations.
 

RodeoRam

Senior Member
Military
Joined
Sep 11, 2018
Posts
420
Reaction score
502
Location
North Carolina
Ram Year
2018
Engine
Hemi 5.7
You can change the fuel capacity setting with AlfaOBD. Check out that enormous thread for the how-to. Search is your friend.
 
OP
OP
S

Steve Hammer

Junior Member
Joined
May 15, 2022
Posts
5
Reaction score
1
Location
Hospital
Ram Year
2016
Engine
6.7 Cummins
I am working on it. In the middle of PIN $25 at Dealer in Carlsbad, CA. Say's good for only 24 hrs. Called my dealership back home, NC for PIN 24 hr. may apply to some vehicles 2021 and 2022 but not 2016. So the CA BS continues.
 

RLJ10X

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2014
Posts
1,940
Reaction score
1,670
Location
Southern Indiana
Ram Year
2011
Engine
5.7 Hemi
I love Carlsbad Ca. Go to Pizza Port for me. Take the Coaster into Old Town. Man, I miss that place.
 

Bigdaddy

Senior Member
Military
Joined
Dec 13, 2011
Posts
2,405
Reaction score
471
Ram Year
2022 3500 Laramie CCLB
Engine
6.7L Diesel Cummins
I install a Titan 52 gals in my 2018 3500 and for what I understand it would only show up if you have the 5Gen, I change it in AlfaOBD but it didn't show in the clusters.
 
Top