Tow Vehicle: V6 vs. V8?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Reaction score
Ram Year
2018 Crew Cab 4x4 Big Horn
Engine
Hemi 5.7 V8
Hi all:

Looking at 2016-18 Certified Preowned Crew Cab RAM 1500s for use as a tow vehicle for a small (15' 2100 lbs dry) travel trailer.

Just retired, wife works a 3/4 time position so short 2-3 day camping trips planned. Live in rural Nebraska so a 4x4 pickup a good second vehicle too.

Looking at the V6 vs. the 5.7 V8. Like the (slightly) higher MPG on the V6, but more highly optioned V8 models easier to find. Like the apparently durability/reliability of the V6, but interested in having the potential to tow a larger trailer down the line.

I know there's plenty of pros and cons but I'd like current data: case studies a big deal when I worked in IT before retirement so that's how I process information.

Don't care about modding or rodding: did plenty in my yoot on motorcycles, 4x4s, trucks, vans, imports but done with that.

One other question: anyone running Hankook tires? I prefer stock or nearly stock size but when our six kids (three each) were still at home or in college, wound up putting Hankooks on five different family vehicles with good results. Haven't seen any referenced in the many tire threads so throwing this out there.

Ram Forum incredibly helpful for this whole process! Sold serviced and repaired computers and peripherals for over 20 years, like to do my homework for big purchases, thanks in advance.

Mike Mc

CamperMike

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
If you go with the v6 make sure it has 3.55 rear end as 3.21 with v6 is very limited tow capacity. Either rear end in the v8 can tow what you have and a bit larger. The 3.92 has the most capability. But that said you will likely run out of cargo capacity before your towing capacity on even the 3.21 v8.