Tpms relearn

Discussion in 'Audio & Electronics' started by 1500ram12, Jan 10, 2019.

  1. PoMansRam

    PoMansRam Senior Member

    Posts:
    404
    Likes Received:
    212
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2018
    Location:
    East Aurora NY
    Ram Year:
    2017
    Engine:
    Pentastar 3.6
    I bought a set of OEM 17" steelies, with the OEM goodyears and TPMSs in them from some random dude on FB Marketplace. They came off his 2015 Ram 1500. I'm using them as my winter wheels/tires. It took no intervention on my part for my 2017 Ram 1500 to recognize the TPMS in them. All it took was a mile or 3 of driving and my truck sync'd right up with them.

    Aftermarket sensors that could also be used for applications other then FCA would likely need an appropriate hand-held computer to get them working. I've been down that road trying to get A/M sensors to work on a Honda. Never got them to work and this was with a busy tire shop selling me the sensors and trying to get them to work.
     
  2. 1500ram12

    1500ram12 Senior Member

    Posts:
    2,538
    Likes Received:
    348
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Ram Year:
    2015
    Engine:
    6.4L Hemi
    These are oem sensors. I just don’t know if my truck is having a problem learning them because I ran a couple months without sensors and I have the service tpms system message. I’m hoping that if I can reset the system clear the error message that my truck will learn the new sensors. If the battery reset doesn’t work I’ll take it to the dealer an see if they can read the sensors. If they can’t then they must be bad. Which would suck.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
     
  3. PoMansRam

    PoMansRam Senior Member

    Posts:
    404
    Likes Received:
    212
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2018
    Location:
    East Aurora NY
    Ram Year:
    2017
    Engine:
    Pentastar 3.6
    ^ That would be weird.

    I know those steelies/TPMSs I bought sat unused for almost 3yrs before I bought them. I was afraid they wouldn't work or the batteries would be dead in them. They still worked.
     
  4. 1500ram12

    1500ram12 Senior Member

    Posts:
    2,538
    Likes Received:
    348
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Ram Year:
    2015
    Engine:
    6.4L Hemi
    I have know idea what the life span is on the sensors. But the way fca makes changes every couple of years there really is no way that the batteries could be bad already. I bought the most current pn sensors for my 2018.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
     
  5. PoMansRam

    PoMansRam Senior Member

    Posts:
    404
    Likes Received:
    212
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2018
    Location:
    East Aurora NY
    Ram Year:
    2017
    Engine:
    Pentastar 3.6

    You would think or at least hope the batteries would be good for 10yrs or so. As you've probably read, the TPMS sensors/system changed in 2015, so 2015-current should be the same.

    If they still won't sync up for you, I think the only way to know what's going on at this point is to plug in a OBDII scanner that reads TPMS system codes to see what's going on with the system
     
  6. 1500ram12

    1500ram12 Senior Member

    Posts:
    2,538
    Likes Received:
    348
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Ram Year:
    2015
    Engine:
    6.4L Hemi
    Yeah I found that out in 2015 when I bought a 2015 2500 tradesmans. These are what I bought 68249197AA. I know I looked at them when I got them to make sure they were the correct ones. I know I took a pic of them so I would have it just Incase and of course cant find it on my phone


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
     
  7. Killingsworth

    Killingsworth Junior Member

    Age:
    30
    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    15
    Joined:
    May 28, 2018
    Location:
    Parkersburg, WV
    Ram Year:
    2016
    Engine:
    Hemi

    Been about a week.
     
  8. 1500ram12

    1500ram12 Senior Member

    Posts:
    2,538
    Likes Received:
    348
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Ram Year:
    2015
    Engine:
    6.4L Hemi
    I disconnected the battery for a few minutes today and nothing changed. Didn't have time to actually drive it tho.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
     
  9. 1500ram12

    1500ram12 Senior Member

    Posts:
    2,538
    Likes Received:
    348
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Ram Year:
    2015
    Engine:
    6.4L Hemi
    So after watching a few things on YouTube it sounds like for whatever reason you may need to have your rf hub reflashed. I believe that's what I need to have done. I think not having sensors mine went to "sleep".


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
     
    Killingsworth likes this.
  10. Killingsworth

    Killingsworth Junior Member

    Age:
    30
    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    15
    Joined:
    May 28, 2018
    Location:
    Parkersburg, WV
    Ram Year:
    2016
    Engine:
    Hemi
    Will contact the dealer. Hope they dont charge me the $100 deductable on my warranty for something that small.
     

Share This Page