Weird Exhaust Noise on Acceleration

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

fernandok

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
HEMI 5.7L
Hey guys,

I'm a newbie here - long time car/truck enthusiast and a master licensed Honda technician.

Mods please move this if it's not in the right area.

So I have a 2017 Ram 1500 5.7L with 65,00km's (40,000miles) with an exhaust noise that has me stumped - and I'm a licensed tech - LOL. I do not have any "hemi tick" on start up or a manifold leak, I've done my best to remove the heat shields off the manifolds and inspect all the bolts, and I cannot replicate the sound while revving in park or even in D with my foot on the brake and loading it up.

This noise that I have only happens on acceleration with a bit of load after you're cruising (ie: 4th gear @ 1,200rpm and you roll into it) and what it honestly sounds like is a mixture of detonation/air wooshing/metallic rattle type sound. I feel like I'm going all over the place so I did my best to record a sound clip - you might have to crank the volume up all the way.

I notice it the most when my windows are down and I'm rolling near curbs or concrete walls.

Any help would be appreciated before I go completely insane and pull the manifolds off, plane them and install with new hardware to cross that off the list.

chris52010trx4

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
hemi 5.7
Hey guys,

I'm a newbie here - long time car/truck enthusiast and a master licensed Honda technician.

Mods please move this if it's not in the right area.