What actually causes hemi tick?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Travis8352

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 hemi
I am new to ram. I have a 2018 1500 with 27k miles and it does not have the tick so I am wondering what causes it? I have read that redline oil seems to so the trick with quieting the tick. Currently running pennzoil platinum 5w20 at 6k intervals with a wix xp

Brandon-w

Reaction score
Ram Year
2015 Ram 1500
Engine
Also welcome to the forum.

LeesEvoX

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 6.4l
I am new to ram. I have a 2018 1500 with 27k miles and it does not have the tick so I am wondering what causes it? I have read that redline oil seems to so the trick with quieting the tick. Currently running pennzoil platinum 5w20 at 6k intervals with a wix xp
IIRC. With low quality oil, neglect, and not enough additives. The rollers on the lifters stop rolling. Which causes them to wear the cam lobes down. Which could end up catastrophic for the engine.

Redline 5w30 is a top choice. With royal purple filter. I got my truck at 100k miles. I immediately changed all fluids. And started using redline 5w30 with royal purple filter.

Just crossed over 166k and besides the water pump exploding. And the TIPM box going out. She has been running strong

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

Brandon-w

Reaction score
Ram Year
2015 Ram 1500
Engine
I had a feeling that would be the case. I tried searching the internet but came up mostly empty