Fifth Wheel Hitch Questions!!

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

MWeir91

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Hey everyone!

I'm fairly new to towing, but I'm buying a 28ft fifth wheel camper in a few days and I'm wondering if i can even install a hitch on my truck. I've got a 3" PA body lift and I'm wondering if there is a kit out there compatible with it or if it's even a good idea to use a fifth wheel when you have a body lift (I'm thinking probably not). I don't plan on going far with it or even taking it on highways; just from my house to a few local parks from time to time.

Any thoughts, comments or concerns??? :confused: Any feedback will be greatly appreciated!!!

Thanks guys!

Stangshcky12

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.9 Cummins
Assuming its a half ton, they aren't really built for fifth wheels and it is not recommended to pull one

OP
OP
M

MWeir91

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
I'm aware that 3/4 and 1 tons are more ideal for towing such a thing, but I have seen a lot of 1/2 tons doing it. That being said, It's an older trailer, and my intent is more of a "park in one place and party" type of deal, so maybe i'll just borrow a 3/4 whats already outfitted with a fifth wheel whenever i need to move it.

Thanks for the response!

jlb

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
CTD
The BL/5th wheel combo would really throw a wrench in the works as well. The 5th wheel hitch bolts to the frame through the bed, and since the bed is lifted 3in higher than stock, I doubt any of the hitches would work anyway. Also, like stated above usually half tons don't get set up with 5th wheels. Not having a full size bed can cause some setup issues with tight turns, let alone the softer suspension, and lighter frames.