Towing advice?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

E-carp

Reaction score
Ram Year
2001 2500
Engine
V10 Magnum
So I'm heading out Tuesday morning in my 01 2500 v10 and my buddy's 18' tilt bed car trailer to Atlanta to pick up a car.

I've read to make sure you're out of overdrive when towing. Does that apply to an empty trailer as well?

Any other tips or advice? This is my first time towing with the beast as I've only had it a couple weeks.

Thanks in advance!

Stangshcky12

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.9 Cummins
If your on he highway I would say its safe to put it overdrive, just take it out for hills

Check your tire pressure, watch your mirrors and traveler safe speeds
Keep in mind that it's back there do give yourself more room then usual

You should be more then ok for the trip!

emjohn4

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
So I'm heading out Tuesday morning in my 01 2500 v10 and my buddy's 18' tilt bed car trailer to Atlanta to pick up a car.

I've read to make sure you're out of overdrive when towing. Does that apply to an empty trailer as well?

Any other tips or advice? This is my first time towing with the beast as I've only had it a couple weeks.

Thanks in advance!

Do you have a trans temp gauge?

The goal of locking out OD is lower temps, and keeping the transmission from gear hunting, which creates a lot of heat and wear.

If you don't know what the trans temp is, probably best to lock out OD, loaded or unloaded.

OP
OP
E

E-carp

Reaction score
Ram Year
2001 2500
Engine
V10 Magnum
I just put a brand new set of load range E Bridgestones on last Thursday. I haven't checked the tire pressure yet, but it all feel a like they put the max 80 psi in. I'm going to drop it down to 60/65 front in back.

My friend who is a former Dodge dealer said he ran 40-45 in his V-10 dually. Is that even safe?