I need severe help please! No fuel = no start = no fun

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Puckett1414

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.9L V8
Ok guys I'm new to this site and want to thank each of you for any help you may be able to provide. I'll start by saying I am not a certified mechanic but i am self taught and know my way around dodge trucks fairly well, so here are my symptoms and issue at hand.

So the truck has been sitting for a while, but its been sitting because it became a secondary vehicle and quit running one day when i went to start it. I had noticed when i was driving it that it would randomly give a low power surge occassionally while driving down the road. Here's what I mean by low power surge, no matter how fast I was going or if I had my foot on the gas or if I was coasting, It would never stall but for a brief second it would dim the lights and drop about 100-200 RPM's but only for a second then it was fine. It did this long enough for me to think it was normal behavior for my truck.

So when it wouldn't start, i narrowed it down to getting no fuel and all the fuses and relays i could find related to the fuel pump checked out and switching relays for ones i knew worked provided no solution. So i assumed the pump was bad, dropped the tank and installed a new pump, reinstalled and still nothing. So i checked voltage with the key turned on at all prongs for the ASD (Automatic Shut Down) relay and fuel pump relay and on one prong for both i get slight voltage (up to 1 volt) for less than 2 seconds and it drops to 0.000 on the multimeter. I have charged and tested the battery so unfortunately keeping it simple also did not provide a solution.