How do I correctly bolt a flexplate to a torque converter?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

KansasRam1997

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.9L 360 Magnum
Hi, this is my first post and I'm new to Ram Forum. Before I get into the flexplate issue I wanted ya'll to hear what I've been doing to the truck over the past year.
You can skip that part and just look at the PROBLEM section if you choose to do so, unless you want to hear a good story.

Introduction of the rebuild:

I have a 1997 RAM 1500 5.9L 360 SPORT STANDARD CAB SHORTBED... Last year around October, I decided to rebuild the engine in my truck at almost 130,000 miles. The two previous owners really ran this truck rough. The guy I bought it from told me the first owner of this truck was a farmer in the Emporia, KS area.
This is my first rebuild EVER! I completely overhauled the engine + transmission with the help of a buddy. He has a big job, so he couldn't help me anymore after that. I worked on it BY MYSELF for many days and nights, on and off, over this past year. Of course, procrastination took it's toll and that's why it took over a full year to be finished.
I had it machined and it was bored .030 over I believe... I had him do a half rebuild for beginners sake because I did not have the proper tools to do some of the build. Basically he put in the crankshaft, camshaft, pistons etc.
With the machining, half rebuild, checking my heads for cracks, cleaning etc. the service cost was $600...
Of course, I had cracked heads, so it's time to order new parts. I ordered remanufactured heads, a full engine rebuild kit along with fresh new lifters, full gasket kit etc. It had a bad starter, so I bought a new one from AutoZone.