Lowering RAM1500 4" & 6"?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Homeboy981

Reaction score
Ram Year
1997 Dodge Ram 1500
Engine
I am a noob here :baby: and cannot find out much about this. Here is my situation:

1997 Ram 1500 with 15" rims and WIDE tires (295X50s) it turns almost as good as my Porsche! The problem is I have 6" in front and 11" in the rear from running those 15s. Tires are cheaper which good since I have: 5.2L with headers, 3" exhaust, no cats (sorry I am allowed to here), chipped, Air Raid Intake and a lead foot! Been through a lot of tires! However, if I can 'get it out of the wind' a little more by lowering it will be even better.

Here is what I have found. The Axle needs a Flip Kit in the rear. However, the hangars seem backwards (the FRONT goes DOWN and the back goes UP). Sooo….can they be reversed? :superhack: The bolt pattern match up and Dodge put 'big rivets' in there to hold them…can I grind, hacksaw, or torch them outta there and re-use by inverting them? Combine that with the Axle Flip and it should give me 5-7 inches lowered in the rear! Do you need to hack the frame to go that low? It seems so.

I can post pics if you like but it seems like an easy and elegant solution to reverse those and then tack weld and use HUGE bolts to hold them in. Then, I can use the Shackle kit I bought at Autozone to fine tune the height. I am not trying to go too low where I need to replace the shocks. AND I need it back on the road fast! It is my support vehicle with 185,000 miles on it but it is still running FAST & LOUD! just a little too high in the turns!

Thanks in advance.:favorites13:

BigSloth

Reaction score
Ram Year
2014 1500 CCSB Black Express
Engine
5.7 Hemi
I'm not tracking as to what you're wanting to do with the cut/reverse.