Newbie... 5.9 mag to 5.7 hemi in 03 with a 12 donar truck

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Rob R

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hello...im new to truck forums and have checked a few out to see if i can find an answer or help me deciding if its worth or even doable.
I have a 2003 ram 1500 with a 5.9 thats not working the best...idles great but is gutless...plus im thinking the tranny might be starting to slip. So i have a great deal from a family member on a 2012 dodge ram with a 5.7 hemi. Everyhing under hood and drivetrain is top shelf... So i guess my question is.... Can it be done and if so what are my challenges and am i gonna need alot of dough for other parts.... Or any major custom work.
If this post or a similiar one with info i need can you please refer me the post...tye1 for your time and input.

fastf

Reaction score
Ram Year
2005 Ram 1500 Quad Cab SLT Thunder road
Engine
Build the 5.9 unless you just gotta have a hemi .Its gonna take a lot to make that 5.7 work in that old a truck.That old engine is tough and you still get parts to make it go just check Summit racing.

OP
OP
R

Rob R

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Tyvm... And good to know.. Prob take that comment and run with it. Irs mainly a sled hauler. .bought ir late fall....never had much power from beginning and struggles to pull 2 sleds on a trailer and never had a vehicle so hard on gas in my life. So havent drove it much but had to last weekend and when i got home the engine bay was covered mainly on drivers side... Guess ill look deeper into it wirh warmer weather coming.... Tx for the great input

chrisp2493

Always Modding
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
392 Hemi