Poor Starting - Possible Carb Issue

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Leadfoot

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
318ci
I have been driving my 87 d150 for 4 years now. 2 years ago I swapped from the factory 2 barrel carb to an edelbrock 500 or 550 cfm carb (I cant remember). I ran great and never had issues.
This year after driving the vehicle for more then 5mins, upon restart it just cranks for quite a while. If I hit the gas when cranking, it usually starts up.
It almost is acting like a flooded engine. My problem is, carbs aren't really something I am too familiar with. What part of the carb could be causing this issue and how can I fix it?
Thanks.

crazzywolfie

Reaction score
Ram Year
81 93
Engine
does the truck sit for any long extended period of time without running since you got the new carb?

AshC

Reaction score
Ram Year
1984 & 2009
Engine
318, 5.7L Hemi
I have been driving my 87 d150 for 4 years now. 2 years ago I swapped from the factory 2 barrel carb to an edelbrock 500 or 550 cfm carb (I cant remember). I ran great and never had issues.
This year after driving the vehicle for more then 5mins, upon restart it just cranks for quite a while. If I hit the gas when cranking, it usually starts up.
It almost is acting like a flooded engine. My problem is, carbs aren't really something I am too familiar with. What part of the carb could be causing this issue and how can I fix it?
Thanks.

If it's flooding, usually they'll start if you put the gas pedal to the floor (to open up the carb) and hold it down while you crank it. If it's flooding, it also usually smells very strongly of gasoline. Different problem if you have to pump the pedal to get it to start.