Dumb Question 4x4

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Kyroptorin

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.4L Hemi
So I have a question as to whether or not I hurt my truck while doing what I did. I was parked in a parking lot with the parking brake on. I heard noises while shifting through the normal Grears PRND (pretty sure just the solenoid doing what it does). But I just started playing around. With the truck still motionless I put the truck in neutral, then I put the 4wd into neutral as well with no issues. I then Put the truck into drive, then put the 4wd back into 2wd and it made a loud bang but apparently shifted successfully. I put the 4wd back into neutral with no issues and then the truck back into neutral and then the 4wd back into 2wd with no bang. Then I put the truck in park and turned it off. My question is whether or not that bang hurt the truck in any way and can someone explain what I did wrong? 2017 ram 2500 4x4 by the way.

Mega-Hemi

US AIR FORCE '08-'18
Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.7 Cummins
Probably didn't help it any but it may be alright. What you did was with the transfer case in neutral putting the transmission in gear lets the transmission and input shaft to transfer case free wheel. By then putting the transfer case into 2wd its slamming moving gears into non moving gears. Think of it like slamming a standard transmission into gear without pushing the clutch.

OP
OP
Kyroptorin

Kyroptorin

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.4L Hemi