Entry level performance mods

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

workd4it

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 hemi
I just finsished the level big tire mod and some exterior modsand with the carven performance exhaust and tips next on my list I was curious about any fairly inexpensive and basic motor mods. Air filters,cold airs etc. Not sure about tuners they seem like a big mod to me and possibly more then I am looking to spend. I really am staying basic with this one,but do not no much about any of it. Any ideas,experiences would be great as well as price and install. thanks

MADDOG

Out Exploring Arizona
Supporting Member
Military
Reaction score
A tuner is not a big mod but it's one of the better bang for the buck mods out there. It just sucks that it costs sooo much to tune a 2015 + truck vs. 2014 and earlier. I have a lot of experience with tuners on my own vehicles and I have always seen a very positive increase in performance from a tuner when coupled with a CAI and a freer flowing exhaust.

I'm a believer in cold air intakes, even on this current gen truck, because of all the resonance baffles and material stuck into the intake, restricting flow. I do like how the stock system utilizes a cold air source at the fender. So with a less restrictive filter, a bit bigger box that connects to that stock cold air inlet and a smoother tube; a cold air intake can be an improvement in throttle response. It will not, however, be a big increase in power.

However, a CAI + freer flowing exhaust + tuning to handle the additional air flow to manage air fuel ratio = more power. It's a system, where the sum of the parts is greater than the individual value of each mod on it's own.

powderbrad

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine