New dodge MPG questions

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Hammer75

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Hey guys, I just bought a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500 Quad Cab TRX 4X4 with a Hemi 5.7. It is rated at 14 city and 18 highway MPG. I drove it 2.5 hours back home after buying it and averaged about 13 on the highway, brand new tires, oil, brakes, and rotors. I have since been driving it around town for a couple days and it has since dropped down to 9. I have babied this truck like no other trying to get the best MPG out of it possible. I have not put it in to 4X4 at all.

When driving it on the freeway I couldn't feel the MDS kick on (Which doesn't mean it didn't). It has factory exhaust and intake system on it.

Anyone know what could be going on to cause such a low MPG number? Like I said I am new to this and was not expecting it to be THIS terrible. Any ways to help improve it? Thanks for your help guys!!

dogcar3

Reaction score
Ram Year
2012 Power Wagon
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Could be gas. What octane are you running? Could also be that you are running a winter blend that does a number on mpg. How fast were you going on the highway? If it was over 65mph then your mpgs are going to suffer. Try running some fuel system cleaner through your truck, I use Lucas. Check your air filter as well, make sure it is clean. What was the air temp when you were on the highway? Colder air will drop your mpgs too.

Another thing to try is to always drive down hill with a tail wind.

OP
OP
H

Hammer75

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
I want to say I was running 195 degrees. I just got regular old shell gas. I was running right at 75 MPH. Is there a way to know if MDS kicks on? I bought it used at a chevy dealership so I am concerned that they didn't use 5w20 which can cause the MDS to not work properly, correct?

SILVER_BULLET

Reaction score