Truck Mods

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

GemiHemi

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Hello all. I recently upgraded from a Ram 1500 Big Horn Crew Cab V6 4x4 to a Ram 1500 Laramie Crew Cab 4x4 with a Hemi. I was not satisfied with the stock sound, and noticed that some times when I'd floor it, there would be some slight hesitation. That being said, I decided to perform two modifications to it. Before I go any further, I must say that I am not a mechanic by no means. However, there is a certain amount of pride you get from doing your own work on your truck, so I performed both mods myself. I first purchased a Flowmaster Outlaw directfit exhaust, then one day later I purchased a K&N cold air intake. I purchase everything on Amazon and had to wait 2 days for them to arrive.
The hardest part was the exhaust due to the bolts, clamps, and pipes being rusted stuck. I'm the 2nd owner of this truck, and the first came from Michigan, so the rust was understandable. After working on the exhaust for 3 days(using only hand tools), I was finally able to complete it. I then completed the cold air intake, and my truck sounds freaking amazing. My MPG has so far went up 1.3mpg, and that is even with me making her purr every chance I get. There is also no hesitation now when I hit the gas, and she squeals her tires every time I do it now. Next mod is going to be installing some LED headlights that I purchased last night. I'll post when they come. So, what kind of mods do you guys have, and suggest?

BiGMERF

Reaction score
Ram Year
2017 SLT 4x4
Engine
v6
welcome aboard bud.. grats on the upgrade

whetrick1

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 Hemi
Welcome to the forum.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Casper

U.S. Navy (Ret.)
Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7L
:wave: Welcome.