Thinking of buying 2006 1500 big horn quad cab

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

nufan

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Hello,
I am new to trucks and new to dodge.
I have my eye on a 2006 1500 big horn quad cab 4x4 with the hemi. It has 93k on it.
What are somethings I should know and/or look for before purchasing. Are these trucks known for certain problems? Is there an average life span, I know that's subjective, but do they start to nickel and dime you at like 120k for example?
Any info would be helpful and appreciated.

Thank you
P.S. asking price is $15,500. I think that's a bit high for the miles but I'm new to trucks. I have about $4k to put down. Really wanna know if I'll have major problems during the duration of the loan;again subjective I know

Last edited:

Ike

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 Hemi
I am new to Ram as well, but have always owned a truck, the people here will give you plenty of good sound advice, Good luck, theres nothing like a new (or new to you, truck)
Ike

EJM05

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
440 Big Block
Price is very high in my opinion. But it also depends on what it has for options.... Can you link us to the truck or give us more info. also your location.

smykowski

Reaction score
Ram Year
2010 SLT
Engine
6.7L Cummins
Price seems about right. I paid a hair over 15k for my 05 Laramie with 92k on it two years ago. KBB on my truck was 19k

Davy120

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Very common dodge problem is a cracked dash. If you its the hemi then gotta clean the throttle body once a year at best and a few others i cant member off the top of my head....oh tranny goes bad, mine in my 03 was replaced at 120k and on my old 01 1500 i replaced it at around 100k. So keep that in mind too, not trying to deter you just being honest lol

Sent from my MAN CAVE using Tapatalk 2

OP
OP