Identifying parts

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

nerak

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7L Hemi
Hey all! Complete newbie to trucks. I've been trying to learn more vehicle stuff so I'm not the dumb female who gets talked into **** I don't need. Unfortunately I still need some help with the ID of some things. I was poking around under my 2008 1500 SXT to see what I already have and what I can do for bigger tires. Saw a couple things that were kinda iffy, link: Imgur: The most awesome images on the Internet

The one looks like rubbing, what exactly would cause this? And the second looks like some rubber that is dry rotting, what exactly is that? Hoping to get maybe get adjustable 5100s and like I said bigger tires, but looks like I may need to do some maintenance first.

Thanks for any input!

Rustycowl69

Reaction score
Ram Year
2001 ram 3500
Engine
V10
"rubbing" looks like the caliper bracket is hitting the steering knuckle at full lock. You are correct that looks like "dry rot". It looks like the joint has not been greased, either. That's to be expected if the joint has no Zerk fitting, they're supposedly greased for life, whatever that means. Congrats on actually crawling under your rig and surveying the condition. A lot of people, some even on this forum, can't be bothered, and then rant like you wouldn't believe when something wears out, or Gawd forbid, breaks.

OP
OP
N

nerak

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7L Hemi
Is there something that would keep the caliper bracket from hitting the steering knuckle at full lock? Why would this be happening? Also, boo on the lack of grease. I may have to bring this in to a shop for some help. And thanks! I try to do a lot of things myself if I can, I came from a 2014 Ford Focus ST so I enjoyed installing my own mods, but I never got around to the suspension.