Banging sound from the bed

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

hunter9878

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
I just recently bought a Ram 1500! I absolutely love it and its amazing! However every time i stop to quick or go to quick there is a banging sound in the bed. Almost as if the bed were moving back and forth but you can feel it from the cab! What could this possibly be? Im new to the dodge's since this is my first so im stumped!

427invader

Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
I have an '04 Ram 1500 with 96,800 miles on it and just noticed the same thing (I've had it for 8 yrs. now), but when I grab the bed or tailgate and shake it the whole truck moves. The bed stays in place and doesn't seem to move as if bolt holes have rounded out. I'm stumped as well.

OP
OP
H

hunter9878

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
If you find out what it is please let me know! Its like someone put a baseball in the bed of my truck and when i spot and go it hits the front and back of the bed! thats my best way of describing the sound!

OP
OP
H

hunter9878

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
I just took a look at my truck and the spare tire under the bed is loose and it is swinging around under the bed! check your spare tire and either tighten it or remove it and hopefully thatll fix your prob! im going to work on mine and ill let you know if that fixes it!

427invader

Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
I just took a look at my truck and the spare tire under the bed is loose and it is swinging around under the bed! check your spare tire and either tighten it or remove it and hopefully thatll fix your prob! im going to work on mine and ill let you know if that fixes it!

Replied to your pm.

For others info the pm was basicly: