46RE Removal Pains

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

superman042388

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.9 Magnum
I'm removing the trans in my 99 1500 to rebuild it since my clutch packs are toast. So far it's just been one thing after another getting in the way of removal. I'm a certified mechanic so not my first time doing a job like this just first time on one of these trucks. I am doing this by myself since I have no one near me to help. So anyone that has done this and has any tips or tricks to help would be greatly appreciated. And if anyone happens to be in the southern Illinois area and could possible help please pm me.

dapepper9

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.9L V8
Pulling trans and engine through the bay or dropping it down underneath? What kinda issues are you having?

OP
OP
S

superman042388

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.9 Magnum
Underneath just seems there is no correct size for the u joint bolts for the transfer driveshaft one size is to big go down a size and to small. Can't get the cross member off and the top starter bolt just can't find a good place to reach it. That's just the biggest issues right now and I know dropping it's gonna be a pain when I get to that since I don't have anyone to help lower it but I have a jack and I'm making a homemade transmission plate for it to support it but like I said never had this much trouble before. It's a good thing I love my truck if I didn't I'd be temped to sell lol.

dapepper9

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.9L V8
Driveshaft bolts i don't remember the size off the top of my head but i believe somewhere around 1/2"-9/16" but i can't remember for sure. Might even be metric.

Crossmember will likely need to be hammered out. Going towards the rear of the truck before going down usually works for most. Going back in same story but in reverse.