5.2 magnum engine build

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

backwoods_ram

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.2 magnum
hello all! i have a 2001 ram with the 5.2. its a basic bolt-on engine. has 130k with JEGS off-road y pipe, 14x3 air filter, Hughes plenum repair kit, SCT Tuning by Flying Ryan.

its time for more power! i picked up another 5.2 out of a 2000 that had 86k on it with a cracked head. i completely disassembled the engine to get it ready for machine work. after checking the bores, it actually falls within spec for not needing bored. BUT should i bore anyway?

im looking to replace everything. but not go too extreme. this is my first time doing a build like this. (never had to make decisions on what part before, but have built other engines)

this truck is just going to be for fun, do a little towing, basically a pavement princess. i need a little advice when it comes to a cam, heads, intake, pistons, etc. any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

progress pics will be posted!

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk

dapepper9

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.9L V8
Myself, i would probably do a 0.030 over bore and run factory crank and rods with the .030 over pistons I'd just go cast like the factory. Factory bottom end and actually handle a very respectable amount of power, especially with Ryan doing the tuning.

53mm or 52x55mm throttle body, airgap from hughes, EQ heads from Jegs (assembled unless you want porting and valve work done), nice set of headers with a 3" exhaust, adjustable roller rockers and finally a cam suggested by a cam company based on everything else going into it and what you want out if it

OP
OP
B

backwoods_ram

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.2 magnum