shade-tree 5.7 Build for a 2012 Ram 2500

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

billy2500

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
Hello Everyone, I’m here hoping to exchange information and share a wierd build I am currently taking on.I will start by stating that I am not a ASE Mechanic, but I do have a lot of experience and I am OCD and research is my thing. I came across what I thought was a great deal on a 2012 Ram 2500 Laramie loaded out with a 5.7 Hemi with the knowledge that the engine was probably a loss. I got it home and on the lift and confirmed what I thought might be the case as the lower end suffered a catastrophic rod failure. I am including pics of the carnage, because who doesn’t love to see it (when it’s expected). After a lot of deliberation and consulting with a local friend and dyno tuner/builder who specializes in Hemi, so I decided on building a replacement 5.7 in Lou of moving to a 6.4. I also understand that there are 5.7 stroker options available that yields a 6.4, but man those things are pricey! This decision to go back a 5.7 was based on bang for buck. My tuner/builder friend is confident and provided his opinions on how we could accomplish the same HP and performance with the modified 5.7 as with the 6.4, so I started the teardown and parts ordering and thought I would share my experiences here throughout this process. This was a great opportunity for such a build/experiment as I plan on being in the truck including engine build for under market value should I decide to part with it (not a fan of taking huge losses). The damage to the bottom end was suffered as a result of apparent rod failure. This unfortunately yielded a scrap block, however I was lucky enough and the heads are salvageable. I was able to find a good core block to build on Facebook marketplace for $300 with good pistons/rods and cranksha