Cam???

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

jsq789

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Magnum 5.9
My truck description is in my sig, I was wondering if there was a good cam out there I could put in my truck to give it that sexy rumble. Also is there anything else I would have to change if I swapped cams? I'm new to engine work. Just got the suspension stuff done. Thanks in advance for replies!!!

Merc225hp

Reaction score
Ram Year
truck
Engine
gas
Well before I get into this suggesting cams and other parts, I think it would be a good idea to do a comp and or a leakdown test. Lets make sure you have a good motor to start with before putting all kinds of money into it. Has the plenum gasket been fixed yet? Are you ready to get a tuner or a Mopar Performance pcm? The stock valve spring in a magnum motor max lift is .480.

OP
OP
jsq789

jsq789

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Magnum 5.9
Well before I get into this suggesting cams and other parts, I think it would be a good idea to do a comp and or a leakdown test. Lets make sure you have a good motor to start with before putting all kinds of money into it. Has the plenum gasket been fixed yet? Are you ready to get a tuner or a Mopar Performance pcm? The stock valve spring in a magnum motor max lift is .480.
well like I said I'm new to engine stuff, if you're willing to spend some time helping me out it would be greatly appreciated. I've looked for programmers but they all seem to be 1998-newer. And I've never messed with the plenum. I didn't know there was anything wrong with mine

dodge dude94

Millennial Boomer
Reaction score
Ram Year
1998 Ram 1500
Engine
5.9 Magnum
The only tuner what would work with a 97 would be an SCT by Hemifever, however, those tuners are no longer in production since the x3 version of the SCT 9550 will be coming out next year.