Electrical Truble Shooting Help Wanted

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

CumminsLikeCrazy

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.9L Inline Cummins
:help: I'm new to this type of problem solving, so please bear with me. My truck is a 99 extra cab 4x4 CTD with 102K miles. I started having troubles with the electrical system, it wouldn't start. Suspected the neutral safety switch and installed a button start. Problem resolved, temporarily.

Next up was intermittent loss of a/c blower, power windows, speedometer, cruise control and the ABS and AIR BAG lights would remain lit. Truck would run, but the loss of features and warning lights was a concern. I suspected a bad ignition switch was the cause of these new troubles and the initial unwillingness to start. Changed that out and things worked well; again temporarily.

Yesterday these same problems returned; while it was running and I was driving. When I stopped and turned the truck off, it would either start with the same loss of features and warning lamps lit, would have everything work but refuse to turn over, or start without any trouble at all. After checking all of the fuses, pulling the various relays in the fuse box and power distribution center, it might or might not fire up. Once I even unscrewed the main connection from the PDC which allowed me to drive home.

Last time I hooked my OBD up, no codes were detected. Has anyone else had this series of faults and discovered what caused them? I'm stumped and the local dealer wants $250 just to look at it before they tell me because its older than 10 years they may not have anyone able to work on it?