2007 5.7 hemi fuel pump/sending unit

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

jflint2010

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
5.7 hemi
Hello everyone,
This is my first time posting here. This is going to be a long read but im in some dire need of help.

A few days ago my truck died while driving. No warning, just boom. I scanned for codes and only have code for an o2 sensor that has been there for a year. I turned key and didn't hear fuel pump running, so I hit the bottom of the tank with my fist and it kicked on for a few seconds and died again. So naturally I assumed it was the fuel pump. I got towed to my work and in lunch I went to AutoZone and got a new fuel pump. I bring it back, get it put in and before reinstalling the tank I wanted to make sure that it worked. Turn the key and nothing. Got a test light and did some probing and found I wasn't getting power to my fuel pump. So then I start thinking fuel relay, and since it's integrated I know I'd have to buy a new tipm. After doing some more probing and testing I determined I had a bad wire somewhere behind my battery. I decided to do the bypass and ran a jumper wire and ran a new wire all the way to the pump, spliced into the harness for direct power. I plugged it into the pump and the pump still wouldn't come on. So I cut my sending unit wire at the pump and spliced it into my fuel pump wire and it worked, however I had no fuel gauge. I got a used tipm from a local junkyard today. I did a t-tap into the fuel pump wire just after the tipm and still had the same issues. So I decided to check out the pump to see if anything was messed up there and unfortunately the 4 wires were not soldered and had come out. So I tried my old pump to see if it would still work and when I plugged it in, it ran constantly even with key off. I'm just at such a loss with this thing right now.