A trailer with no brakes?

Discussion in 'Towing & Hauling' started by Mpeach1976, Dec 21, 2015.

1. Mpeach1976

Mpeach1976 Junior Member

Ram Year:
    Engine:
    Cummins diesel
    I'm going to be using my '95 Dodge Cummins 3500 dually to haul a 1967 ford f100 on a Uhaul car transport trailer. I've reserved the trailer and also found out that the trailers Uhaul rent don't have electric brakes. Is that safe? The Ford being towed weighs about 3500 pounds. It'll be a cinch for my truck to haul, but I'm concerned about downhills and stopping power on the trailer. Has anyone towed a load like this on a Uhaul trailer with any problems?

2. dodge dude94

dodge dude94 Senior Member

Ram Year:
    1998 Ram 1500
    Engine:
    5.9 Magnum
    You have a 1 ton....it'll be just fine. You may feel it push a little bit, but you'll still stop fine.

3. Rlaf75

Rlaf75 Senior Member

Ram Year:
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    You'll be fine since your ram is big enough.I used to be a tow truck driver. My wrecker was a 92 f350 7.3 diesel 4x2. I've pulled several vehicle the same size and larger without any type of braking system without any problems. Just give yourself some extra distance and time and you should be fine.

4. tsc

tsc Senior Member

Ram Year:
    Engine:
    Hemi 5.7
    Some Uhauls have hydraulic brakes installed.

I'm pretty certain if you're going to be using one of their car haulers. It will have hydraulic brakes, since I can't see them renting out something that wasn't "legal". Most states and province's require trailer brakes over a certain weight (anywhere from 2K to 3500K+).

Uhaul tends to use hydraulic brakes oppose to electric, since it covers their backside. If they came with electric, they would have to ensure that the renter had an electric brake controller in the vehicle. This way, with the hydraulic, it's attached to the trailer and it's one less thing they have to worry about.

dodge dude94 and Merc225hp like this.
  5. OutLore

OutLore Senior Member