Advice on air supension delete

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Ryman0423

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hello!

2013 Ram 1500 Laramie. 190K miles. 4th compressor needed, previous were in warranty. Dealer wants $5200 to replace. My thoughts are it's time to pull and replace with coil overs. I'm primarily a highway driver but I do have a 30ft boat that weighs about 5k lbs that I pull occasionally. I do like the air suspension but suspect it will be problematic now that it's out of pocket.

What shocks and springs do you all recommend to get to a similar ride hieght to Offroad 1 and softness of the air suspension? Please talk to me like I'm a toddler on this stuff. LOL I am not super mechanically inclined. I found a shop who will do it, they just need me to get the parts and find a way to delete it from the truck. I assume this alphaOBD is something I can probably find and or purchase.

Monroe and Air delete seem to have kits for this vehicle that are under 1K for the monroe, air delete is closer to 2k. has onyone tried them? perhaps something a little higher quality?

Thanks in advance!

T. Anders

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
I ripped out my air suspension last year with a Bilstein kit from airdelete. I went with the fronts set at 2.1" and I went with a +1" rear spring with added tow capacity. Although I didn't measure, it appears to me to now sit pretty similar to the offroad 1 setting. It wasn't too bad to install and probably took 4 hours or so with me going pretty slowly. I also rented the tool for getting rid of the error codes. I'm pretty happy with the ride, but I'll admit it doesn't ride as nice as the air suspension did. Its definitely rides more like a truck now.

IMG_4265.jpg

OP
OP
R

Ryman0423

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Your truck looks exactly like mine, minus the ram boxes. Great looking ride!