New 2022 2500 with rear end noise??

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Tonygalo08

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hi all, I picked up a new never titled left over 22 with just 100 miles on it. 2500, 6.7. Now not trying to say I'm a know it all but this thing sounds like a rear end whine when you let off or float the throttle at 30-50mph. I'm going to take it in and let them check it, but I have been building transmissions and rear ends for nearly 40 years now and I swear it's the rear. Sounds like the coast side of the gear set. I was wondering if anybody else may have heard of this?

mtnrider

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.7 Cummins
Noises are kind of hard to describe and diagnose over the internet but you are one of the first I have seen complain about it so it's not a common issue (or the noise you are hearing is normal).

stevenP

Reaction score
Ram Year
2022 2500 Longhorn
Engine
6.7L Cummins
According to a TSB, wife saw on the NTSA site....There was some 2022's that left the factory very low on diff fluid. Mine wasnt making any noise per say, but when I checked mine it was very low. I ended adding 3 quarts of fluid between the front and rear diffs to properly fill them.

06 Dodge

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
6.7L CTD
According to a TSB, wife saw on the NTSA site....There was some 2022's that left the factory very low on diff fluid. Mine wasnt making any noise per say, but when I checked mine it was very low. I ended adding 3 quarts of fluid between the front and rear diffs to properly fill them.